Eight row for Niklas Ajo at Grand Prix of Japan


Niklas Ajo will start on Sunday for season´s 14th Moto3 GP from eight row on Motegi circuit in Japan.
18 year old Ajo qualified 23rd with a time of 2.00,386. He managed to do only ten laps until he fell. In the morning practice session the Finn improved his lap time by four tenth of a second and was 11th fastest.
“My pace is pretty good despite the crash in qualifying and all the misfortune. The fight goes on”, Ajo convinces.
Based on the free practice session Ajo´s aim in the qualifying was to get a significantly better position than what he eventually got from the qualifying. His plan was destroyed harmfully already after few minutes.
“The front part of my bike slid out from under me when I came from the curve”, Ajo describes, “I survived from the crash without hurting myself. Neither did the bike suffer that much. But they didn´t allow me to continue and that took a while until we got the bike back to the paddock from other way.”
When the last quarter of the 40 minutes long session was left Ajo was back in action with his black bike.
“But then there was a problem with the rear brake and I needed to go once more to the pits.”
Ajo made his best time in his last effort.
“In the end I managed to do only around half a dozen laps. And at that time the track was of course crowded.”
The fastest man in the qualifying was Finnish team Ajo Motorsport´s British rider Danny Kent, who took his first pole position with a time of 1.58,371, from which Ajo was two seconds behind. Ajo´s difference to the front became almost double comparing to the free practice session.
Kent will be joined to the front row by Spanish Maverick Vinales and his German teammate Sandro Cortese, who leads the championship by 51 points. Kent was 0,203 seconds faster than Vinales and Cortese was 95 thousandth of seconds from Vinales.

Moto3 Qualifying Practice Classification:

1. Danny Kent Great Britain, Red Bull KTM Ajo, KTM 1.58,371
2. Maverick Vinales Spain, Blusens Avintia, FTR Honda + 0,203
3. Sandro Cortese Germany, Red Bull KTM Ajo, KTM + 0,298
4. Zulfahmi Khairuddin Malaysia, AirAsia-Sic-Ajo, KTM + 0,580
5. Alessandro Tonucci Italy, Team Italia FMI, FTR Honda + 0,701
6. Luis Salom Spain, RW Racing GP, Kalex KTM + 0,726
7. Jonas Folger Germany, Mapfre Aspar Team Moto3, Kalex KTM + 0,754
8. Louis Rossi France, Racing Team Germany, FTR Honda + 0,842
9. Efren Vazquez Spain, JHK t-shirt Laglisse, FTR Honda + 0,916
10. Romano Fenati Italy, Team Italia FMI, FTR Honda + 0,988
11. Miguel Oliveira Portugal, Estrella Galicia 0,0, Suter Honda + 1,123
12. Niccolo Antonelli Italy, San Carlo Gresini Moto3, FTR Honda + 1,281
13. Alex Rins Spain, Estrella Galicia 0,0, Suter Honda + 1,282
14. Arthur Sissis Australia, Red Bull KTM Ajo, KTM + 1,315
15. Alberto Moncayo Spain, Andalucia JHK t-shirt Laglisse, FTR Honda + 1,533
23. Niklas Ajo Finland, TT Motion Events Racing, KTM + 2,015